a new trail run

I am fortunate to live is a semi-suburb area that is surrounded by trails. People drive to where I live to walk, run, bike and horseback. It took me two years before I ventured out into my own backyard for some trail walks, eventual runs and now running in my FiveFingers.

I live on a plateau, so all runs out of my house start with going downhill and the end of the run is back uphill. Fun times.

Up until now, I’ve pretty much stayed on the trails on my side of the street. Yesterday I actually got the gumption to cross the street and run a different trail! The shock!

I completed four and a quarter miles of pavement, rocks, gravel, dirt, mulch and even a wooden bridge. It was a great run. My legs aren’t tight today – good sign my calves are getting used to proper running. Running across the bridge was a blast I felt like a Ninja!

Tomorrow I’m going on an 11 mile run with a friend. This will be the longest run yet in my VFFs! The longest prior has been nine miles. That was the second half of my first 20 mile run when I was training for the Seattle Rock n Roll Marathon. I had put my VFFs in my camelbak, and halfway through the run my blisters were hurting so bad I said to hell with it and changed shoes. It’s a small camelbak, so I carried the trail shoes the entire 9 miles while running in my VFFs.

I really am looking forward to running longer, stronger, faster in these shoes. Not sure if I’ll ever venture into the barefoot running territory, but you never know.

Leave a Reply

