a long lost friend

Earlier this year an old friend of mine and I had suffered a huge falling out over… I want to say a misunderstanding. That word doesn’t quite feel right but it’s the closest thing I can think of.

I thought of it as my own Rift. The Rift between two friends meant to be friends forever. It hurt. I cried. And then I cried some more. And then every once in a while I would think about her and close up inside my heart and just hurt. It became a dull pain inside, and then the pain turned into an ache. I eventually thought with sadness that perhaps it was for the best, but I still missed her and cared deeply about her.

Last night she messaged me on IM. I was shocked, to say the least. I thought she would never speak to me again. So I stepped away from the computer, went outside, had a smoke, grabbed a beer, and then came back to the computer. She was still online so I messaged her back.

Long story short: We made up last night. I feel so good. We have been through a lot in our twenty plus year relationship. I am glad we are speaking again

