trick-or-treat

It’s now dark and the trick-or-treaters should be showing up any minute. I didn’t go to any parties this weekend although Halloween is my favorite holiday. I never experienced trick-or-treating myself. For some reason, my parents never let me go. I was able to dress up, but not go out. I am the youngest of five. Three bothers and one sister. They all got to go at some point in their life. Perhaps it was because my parents were too old by the time it was my turn and didn’t want to be bothered with it.

So I spent my Halloweens dressing up and handing the candy out to my friends who were trick-or-treating. I thought it was very unfair. C’est la vie.

One time I was even on the Trick end of it. I have no clue why because I never missed giving out treats to anyone. I grew up with outdoor cats. One Halloween, I noticed one of my cats meowing exceptionally loud in a painful way. Some fucker had poured turpentine on my cat. I think I was in seventh grade. Anyway, I took the cat inside and immediately bathed him but it was too late. He had ingested some and died soon after. After that – we always locked our cats in the garage on Halloween nights. I think to this day my family still does that.

Leave a Reply

